You are here : Government  >  City Commission
Public Meetings

As voted in the December 11, 2017 City Commission Meeting, Meetings will be held the third Monday of each month at 7 p.m. (unless a holiday falls on the regular meeting date). Meeting changes and Special Meetings are posted to the bulletin board outside of the main entrance at City Hall and when feasible are added to the homepage of the City webpage at www.auburnmi.org. Meetings are held at City Hall, 113 E. Elm Street beginning at 7:00 pm.

2018 Regular City Commission Meetings

January 8
February 12
March 19 
April 16
May 21
June 18
July 16
August 20
September 17
October 15
November 19
December 17

Auburn City Commission

Front Row (L - R): Jan Dziurka, Mayor Lee Kilbourn, Matthew Charbonneau
Back Row (L - R): Matthew Hardy, Russell Williams, Jeff Rahl, Ken Charbonneau

The City Commission is composed of six (6) members elected at large on a city-wide basis for four year terms and the Mayor elected for two year terms. The Commission represents all the citizens of Auburn and has responsibility for setting all municipal policies not designated by City Charter or State Legislation. The City Commission sets policies through ordinances, resolutions and budget appropriations, and determines the local property tax millage rate. The City Administrator, who is appointed by the City Commission, oversees daily City services and programs.

The positions of Mayor and Commissioners are non-partisan and nominated by petition. Residents interested in running for elected office should contact the City Clerk to obtain a petition and filing deadline information

Auburn believes in being a welcoming environment for all individuals, regardless of race, ethnicity or place of origin. This enhances Auburn’s way of life. We encourage the spirit of unity that brings people together.  

Auburn has long been recognized as a hospitable and welcoming place where people’s families thrive and are celebrated and valued. Auburn is committed to continue building a welcoming and neighborly atmosphere in our community, where all are welcome, and accepted. 

Auburn encourages all who call it home, to make Auburn a welcoming place for all.

send us your comments or concerns



** Commissioners Matthew Hardy and Matthew Charbonneau have officially resigned their positions with the City of Auburn. Dan Nease and Gary Warner ran uncontested for the seats and were officially voted in on November 6, 2018. Updates to this page will be coming soon. ** 

Ken Charbonneau
Additional Appointments: Mayor Pro Tem,
Auburn-Williams Rec Board
Planning & Zoning Board Member
Term Expires: November 2020

Not listed
Jeff Rahl
Additional Appointments:  
Zoning Board of Appeals
Term Expires: November 2020

not listed
Russell Williams
Additional Appointments: 
Auburn/Williams Inter-Governmental 
Term Expires: November 2020

Phone # 989-798-0873
Email RussAuburnHotel@hotmail.com
Dan Nease
 Addtional Appointments: Auburn-Williams Recreation Board
Term Expires: November 2022

not listed
Jan Dzurka
Additional Appointments:
Auburn Farm Market Board
Term Expires: November 2022

Phone # 989-662-4743

Gary Warner
Additional Appointments: none
Term Expires: November 2022

Not listed
Additional Resources & Forms