You are here : Government  >  Boards & Committees  >  Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Township Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) consists of five members.  Each member, when appointed, shall serve a term of three years. The ZBA shall elect one of its members as it chairman and one of its members as secretary.  Each ZBA member receives a reasonable sum as determined by the City Commission for his services in attending each regular or special meeting of said Board.

 POWERS AND DUTIES:  The Zoning Board of Appeals shall have all powers and duties prescribed by law, in the township Zoning Ordinance, and which are more particularly specified as follows: 

  • Interpretation - Decide any question involving the interpretation of any provisions of the township Zoning Ordinance, including determination of the exact location of any district boundary of the Zoning Map if there is uncertainty with respect thereto;
  • Variances - Grant variances from the terms and provisions of the township Zoning Ordinance as provided in that ordinance; and
  • Appeals - Hear and decide appeals of decisions made by the Zoning Administrator.  In this regard, the Board of Appeals may assume the powers of the Zoning Administrator. 


Current Zoning Board of Appeals Members:

Sue Emerson  Term expiring: June 2017
Pam Campbell  Term expiring: June 2017
Walt Bieszke  Term expiring: June 2017
Kay Bridenbaugh   Term expiring: June 2017
vacant  Term expiring: June 


113 E Elm St., Auburn MI 48611 989-662-6761




The City of Auburn is an equal opportunity employer and provider