You are here : Government  >  Boards & Committees  >  Planning Commission
Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is responsible for overseeing the City's master plan, conducting public hearings and offering recommendations to the City Council on a wide range of local land use issues, including site plans for new developments, zoning law amendments and various land divisions.

The Planning Commission consists of seven members who are representative of major interests as they exist in the City, such as agriculture, recreation, education, public health, government, commerce, transportation and industry.  All members shall be qualified electors and property owners of the City.  One member of the City Commission shall be a member of the Planning Commission. 

All members of the Planning Commission are appointed to a three year term by the Mayor with the approval of the City Commission.  Members of the Planning Commission are compensated for their services as provided by the City of Auburn. 

ALL zoning change requests must be made by first completing the Site Plan Review Application and submitting with the application fee to City Hall. If approved you will then need to submit the Site Plan Checklist as directed in a timely manner. 


Planning Commission Public Meetings

Regular meetings of the Planning Commission are held on the third Tuesday of January, March, May, July, September and November at 7:00 p.m at the City of Auburn Meeting Room located at 113 E. Elm St, Auburn, MI 48611. When the regular meeting day falls on a legal holiday, the Planning Commission will select a suitable alternate day in the same month. 


Please send us your comments or concerns



Planning Commission Resources
Planning Commission Forms

Site Plan Review Packet 

Site Plan Review Application

Special Use Permit Application

Rezoning (Text Change) Application



Planning Commission Members

Alan Wisniewski, Chairman   Commerce  Term expiring February 28, 2023
Kathy Kilbourn, Vice-Chair Education  Term expiring February 28, 2022
open Industry  Term expiring February 28, 2022
Melody Raab Recreation &
 Term expiring February 28, 2022
Patricia Wojciechowski Natural Resources
& Public Health
 Term expiring February 28, 2024   
Dennis Maida Agriculture  Term expiring February 28, 2024
 Chris Pichan Transportion &
 Term expiring February 28, 2023 
Ken Charbonneau Governmental &
 City Commission Representative