You are here : Government  >  Boards & Committees  >  Planning Commission

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is responsible for overseeing the City's master plan, conducting public hearings and offering recommendations to the City Council on a wide range of local land use issues, including site plans for new developments, zoning law amendments and various land divisions.

The Planning Commission consists of seven members who are representative of major interests as they exist in the City, such as agriculture, recreation, education, public health, government, commerce, transportation and industry.  All members shall be qualified electors and property owners of the City.  One member of the City Commission shall be a member of the Planning Commission. 

All members of the Planning Commission are appointed to a three year term by the Mayor with the approval of the City Commission.  Members of the Planning Commission are compensated for their services as provided by the City of Auburn. 

ALL zoning change requests must be made by first completing the Site Plan Review Application (under construction) and submitting with the application fee to City Hall. If approved you will then need to submit the Check List Form (under construction) as directed in a timely manner. **Please get temporary forms from City Hall**

Please send us your comments or concerns

 Planning Commission Public Meetings

Regular meetings of the Planning Commission are held on the third Tuesday of January, March, May, July, September and November at 7:00 p.m. When the regular meeting day falls on a legal holiday, the Planning Commission will select a suitable alternate day in the same month. Please refer to the Minutes page for the tentative Meeting Dates for the current year.

City of Auburn Zoning Map

Current Planning Commission Members:

vacant  Term expiring February, 2020
Alan Wisniewski, Chairman    Term expiring February, 2020
Betty Owen, Secretary  Term expiring February, 2018
Andy Krauss   Term expiring February, 2018
Kathy Kilbourn, Vice Chair  Term expiring February, 2018
Patricia Wojciechowski  Term expiring February, 2019   
Dennis Maida  Term expiring February, 2019
Jan Dzurka  City Commission Representative

113 E Elm St., Auburn MI 48611 989-662-6761


The City of Auburn is an equal opportunity employer and provider